AgroWeb Austria
  Country Profile
Austria is located in southern Central Europe. Geographically, its territory encompasses both the Eastern Alps (which cover some two thirds of its surface area) and the Danube Region. Austria has a land surface of 83,858 square kilometres (32,369 square miles). Austria has common borders with eight other countries: Germany, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Italy, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Austria is a federal state consisting of nine independent federal states: Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Upper Austria, Vienna and Vorarlberg.

The Austrian population totals slightly more than eight million, some 98% of whom are German-speaking. The six ethnic groups officially recognised in Austria are concentrated on the east and south of the country. In 1999 the population was made up of 4.1 million (51,5%) female and 3.9 million (48,5%) male Austrians.
  1. Austrian Map Online
  2. Statistical Yearbook of Austria
  3. Statistik Österreich
This AgroWeb Portal is created and maintained by Progis, pages are hosted by Progis in co-operatioin with FAO SEUR